I made the most delicious white bean, green chile, chicken chili today. I will post it once I come up with a more catchy name for it. Until then, I will post one of the components of the dish: green salsa. I usually use canned for the soup, but this salsa would work even better, and is delicious on its own.

This salsa was inspired by a trip to Milkpail in Palo Alto, my favorite market to get cheap produce and (ridiculously) cheap cheese. The poblano peppers, tomatillos, and cilantro all caught my eye since they were on sale. I had seen an article on canning in Food Network Magazine, and though I didn’t want to fool with the hassle of buying supplies for such an involved process, it made me want to try green salsa. Mine turned out brighter and even prettier than their canned version.

Ingredients:

2 large (or 3-4 small) poblano peppers

About 12 tomatillos

1 red jalapeno

Half a large onion

2 large cloves of garlic

A bunch of cilantro

Salt to taste

Cumin to taste

2 tablespoons olive oil

Splash of white vinegar

Directions:

Cut peppers in half and deseed. Reserve some of the seeds for some extra heat, if you’d like. Cut the onion into quarters and the tomatillos in half. Arrange all veggies onto a broiler pan like this:

Broil them for about 5-10 minutes. Watch closely so that they don’t burn. Take the pan out when they look like this:

Before proceeding, the poblanos and jalapenos need some extra care. Place them in a plastic grocery bag and tie it off. Let them sit for 15 minutes like this. When you remove them, the skin should peel off easily. Make sure you broil them for long enough that they get a nice brown char on top, or else the skin will get stringy and become hard to peel. (Note: I don’t have a gas stove in my crappy apartment kitchen, but if you do, you can char the peppers right over the flame.)

Chop the peppers into smaller pieces. Put everything into a blender or food processor. I used a mini chopper I bought for $20 from Walmart. You will want to use enough olive oil so that everything blends smoothly, but not so much that it becomes greasy. Add about a quarter cup of chopped cilantro leaves, and a pinch of salt and cumin. Taste this before you add the vinegar. The tomatillos will make this salsa quite tart, and it might not need any. If you would like, add a splash–I added about 1 tablespoon. 

I took this to work the next day with tortilla chips and it was demolished. My poor roommate hardly got to try any : ( I also used some on my almost daily meal of bean-and-cheese quesadillas.

❤ ❤ Megs ‘n Eggs

