Image

Last night I had a ticket to see Les Mis at the Orpheum in San Francisco. I decided to spend the evening doing exactly what I felt like doing, which ended up being to drink wine and have an entire cheese plate to myself for dinner. The last couple times I went to wineries in Sonoma and Napa, I went the whole day without trying a single wine I would have chosen to have more than one sip of. Last night, the woman at  Pause Wine Bar poured me three different reds that were all delicious. They rotate their by-the-glass selections so that you can conceivably try everything on their menu at some point.

How can I transition from Les Mis to breakfast this morning? Well, I guess it goes with the French theme, though I suspect french toast is about as french as french fries. I made this today because my freezer is full of half-loaves of Italian or sourdough bread– that stuff goes stale so fast when you buy it fresh. I keep this on hand for garlic bread, croutons, or this:

Image

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

1.5 tablespoons granulated sugar

smallest pinch of salt

Any kind of stale bakery bread

Directions: Mix everything together.

Image

Soak the bread slices in the egg mixture on both sides, then drop into a hot, buttered pan.

Image

Brown both sides.  Serve with powdered sugar or maple syrup.

Image

Moral of the story: Don’t throw out your stale bread!

<3<3 Megs ‘n Eggs

